ECOOP 2022
Mon 6 June - Thu 7 July 2022 Berlin, Germany

AITO Dahl-Nygaard Prize Winners

The Senior Prize is awarded to Dan Ingalls.

Dan Ingalls was the main implementor of the Smalltalk-80 system and its precursors, Smalltalk-72, Smalltalk-76, and Smalltalk-78. He is responsible for much of the detailed design of the Smalltalk language and system, as well as the formulation of key object-oriented design principles. Dan also invented BitBlt, a general-purpose graphical operation, and pop up menus, making window systems and GUIs a reality. He made the unique Smalltalk environment what it is, with its support for pure object-orientation, reflection, live programming, and persistence.

Later, Dan led the development of Squeak, a practical and very compact Smalltalk system with a virtual machine written entirely in Smalltalk. Squeak and its offshoots like Pharo continue to have a thriving open-source community. Based on Squeak, Dan worked on several other pioneering live programming systems such as the Lively Kernel for web programming, and EToys, an educational programming environment. EToys was the direct forerunner of Scratch, with its huge influence on education and programming for children

Dan’s work has had enormous impact, foreshadowing modern computing in many ways.

The Junior Prize is awarded to Magnus Madsen.

Magnus Madsen is the leader behind Flix, a declarative language for implementing modular and expressive program analyses. Flix seamlessly integrates logic, functional and imperative features, and supports interoperability with Java. The language has a solid implementation and runs on the JVM. Notable applications of Flix include high-level declarative implementations of interprocedural analysis frameworks like IFDS and IDE, a new polymorphic effect system for tracking side-effects, and a novel expressive type system for nullability.

Magnus has also done noteworthy work on static and dynamic analysis for JavaScript, in particular for reasoning about asynchrony in applications with events and promises, and for developing practical bug-finding tools.

AITO Test of Time Award

The 2022 AITO Test of Time Award is presented to:

Yoonsik Cheon and Gary T. Leavens: A Simple and Practical Approach to Unit Testing: The JML and JUnit Way, ECOOP 2002 DOI: 10.1007/3-540-47993-7_10

Distinguished Papers

Distinguished Artifacts

Distinguished Reviewers

We would like to thank and congratulate our ECOOP’22 Distinguished Reviewers for their exceptional contributions:

Distinguished Artifact Reviewers

We would like to thank and congratulate our ECOOP’22 Distinguished Artifact Reviewers for their exceptional contributions: